The best of both worlds

What can you expect from Smart Family Office? The best of both worlds. Well-founded knowhow. Pleasure in our work. The enjoyment of meeting people. A good reputation. And – in line with our mission – unorthodox thinking. That’s it.
Partner

Philipp Mayerhofer

“Whatever one does successfully, it is a whole series of targeted and sometimes minor decisions that lead to a great outcome….”

Q:What, for you, is a successful day?

P.M.:In one simple sentence: When we use our time and our client’s time wisely and generate visible added value. This is the basis for satisfaction and for establishing long-term client relationships.


Q:Is this also the feedback from your clients?

P.M.:Another great thing about our work is the positive feedback that we receive. If the client trusts us to carry out these sensitive tasks and to manage their investment affairs, then this brings huge responsibility. And it’s a responsibility that we’re happy to accept.


Q:And? Do they do this?

P.M.:Many do. This is the basis. It leads to a marathon of successful sprints or, in other words, ongoing support plus individual issues that emerge more-or-less suddenly and that we deal with – because they have to be resolved.


Q:What do you mean by suddenly?

P.M.:It could be that a client decides to sell part of their company – or that they own a property with a window that doesn’t close. This actually happens; our services are as small or as large as our clients’ concerns. But it can also be the case that we proactively approach our clients with an issue because we recognise that it could offer them potential added value.


Q:This approach seems unusual …

P.M.:And perhaps it is. But this is the benefit of the structure and the size of the Smart Family Office. On the one hand, the ability to successfully deal with major issues and, on the other hand, the absolute dedication to solve the small things too, with enthusiasm. Because it’s often these that make the difference …


Q:In other words, thinking proactively – not just for oneself but also for others? …

P.M.:There are a few key aspects to our relationships with our clients that are really important to us: The first is this long-term, holistic thinking that leads to long-term client relationships. I’ve already mentioned thinking proactively, and acting as a sparring partner in stressful situations is also important. As are our commitments to give 100%, to be independent and to ensure that the client is the focus of all our thinking.
Partner

Daniel Maier

“It is our clients who shape our work and ensure that it is fascinating, day by day. And we’re happy about this, because it means that we get up every morning full of new energy.”

Q:Of course the focus is on the client. But what actually characterises a typical client of Smart Family Office?

D.M.:This is precisely what makes our work so wonderful. For there’s no such thing as a typical client. Our clients' demands are far too diverse … which is why we have such a broad offering and work with our clients to develop solutions that are tailored to meet their needs.


Q:Someone comes to you and you chat and, ideally, work together. What’s the most important reaction that you get from your clients?

D.M.:Enthusiasm. Pure and simple. When we see that their trust, which forms the initial basis of our relationship, has developed into an enthusiasm that is as great as ours. An enthusiasm that leads, over time, to even more trust and, then, to a long-term cooperation that can last for generations.


Q:And that can possibly also lead to a referal?

D.M.:Yes, quite often, and this isn’t only something that really pleases us, but is also an excellent starting point. Of course it’s hard to say exactly what percentage of work results from referals, but it’s enough to make us very happy.


Q:What are the concrete areas in which people approach you?

D.M.:These can range from relocation or strategic advice to the challenges of an exit, which can leave a client with a lot of cash and the need to be certain that this money is well invested. But it can also be that someone is looking for financing for their project, plans philanthropic investments, is facing a succession issue or wants to grow their wealth sustainably.


Q:But I’d still like to come back to the question that I mentioned at the beginning: How would you, or do you, define a happy client?

D.M.:A client, who recognises, right from the start, the added value that we offer as an independent family office. This inspires enthusiasm. We’re working with many such clients today. And it’s always a great pleasure for us to experience how an initially small number of common interests develop, over time, into large areas of agreement, which then lead to individual solutions that allow our clients to sleep well. They trust us, because they know that they’ll also be able to rely upon us long term.
Partner

Michaela Sulke-Trezek

“Now we have the opportunity to realise the best of both worlds: The knowhow from global institutions combined with the agility of a lean and totally committed team.”

Q:To come straight to the point: Why are you here? And not in London? Or Singapore?

M.S.T.:You could turn the question around: Why did I leave in the first place? And the answer is: Because I wanted to learn more about capital markets and one can do this best in the major financial centres, such as New York, London or Frankfurt …


Q:Since your return, you have worked for ten years supporting UHNW and HNW clients at Credit Suisse and Deutsche Bank Österreich, but what did you do before this?

M.S.T.:I worked in the capital markets divisions of two US investment banks, where I was able to gather extensive experience, which I’m now applying in my current work.


Q:In other words, a kind of restart?

M.S.T.:Yes – and no. A restart in the sense that our aim here is to find new solutions to well-known problems. But it’s not a restart insofar as the clients, whom we serve, demand the same things from us as from the larger institutions. And also expect more flexibility and holistic support. Which we are able to deliver.


Q:Were your expectations of this new set-up clear from day one?

M.S.T.:Absolutely. I wanted to do something, create opportunities for clients, shape things successfully. The rulebooks of large institutions make it difficult to be agile and fail to offer the whole spectrum of opportunities that clients need. Please don’t misunderstand me: I’m a trained lawyer and can take a responsible approach to risk. But the fact that three compliance officers monitor the work of one advisor isn’t in the client’s interest.


Q:And your clients agree?

M.S.T.:Clients are looking for other options, want to invest in other ways than a single bank can offer. This isn’t a criticism of the quality of the work of these institutions; it’s simply inherent to their systems. So we asked ourselves: Is the corset of one bank, together with the products offered by this bank, what our clients really need? Or can we offer these clients something neutral that is also cutting edge? This allows us to work holistically and not just from one perspective. This is what our clients deserve today, more than ever before.
Accounting & Finance

Angelika Mayerhofer

Marketing

Dorit Maier

The best of both worlds

Was Sie im Smart Family Office erwartet? The best of both worlds. Fundiertes Wissen. Spaß bei der Arbeit. Freude an der Begegnung mit Menschen. Ein guter Ruf. Und unserer Mission entsprechend – unorthodoxes Denken. Das wär‘s eigentlich.
Partner

Philipp Mayerhofer

„Was auch immer man erfolgreich tut, es ist eine Reihe gezielter, teilweise kleiner Entscheidungen, die zu einem großen Ergebnis führen …“

F:Was ist für Sie ein erfolgreicher Tag?

P.M.:In einem einfachen Satz: Wenn wir die Zeit unserer Kundinnen oder Kunden und unsere Zeit sinnvoll nutzen und dadurch ein sichtbarer Mehrwert entsteht. Das ist die Basis für Zufriedenheit und Grund für die langfristigen KundInnenbeziehungen, die wir pflegen.


F:Ist das auch das Feedback Ihrer KundInnen?

P.M.:Das Schöne an unserer Arbeit liegt auch in der Rückbestätigung, die wir erhalten. Wenn wir mit sensiblen Aufgabenstellungen betraut werden und im Mittelpunkt aller Vermögensangelegenheiten operieren, ist das mit großer Verantwortung verbunden. Diese Verantwortung nehmen wir gerne an.


F:Und? Tun sie das?

P.M.:Bei vielen ist das so. Das ist die Basis. Daraus entwickeln wir einen Marathon aus erfolgreichen Sprints, also die laufende Betreuung plus individueller Themen, die mehr oder wenig plötzlich auftauchen und bearbeitet, gelöst werden wollen.


F:Was kann man unter plötzlich verstehen?

P.M.:Es kann sein, dass sich eine Kundin oder ein Kunde entschließt, einen Teil des Unternehmens zu verkaufen, oder es kann auch sein, dass bei einer Liegenschaft ein Fenster nicht zugeht. Das ist tatsächlich so, unsere Services sind so klein oder groß wie das Anliegen, das unsere KundInnen haben. Es kann aber auch sein, dass wir proaktiv auf unsere KundInnen mit einem Thema zugehen, in dem wir einen Wert für unsere AuftraggeberInnen erkennen


F:Dieser Zugang erscheint ungewöhnlich …

P.M.:Er ist es vielleicht auch. Aber da kommen uns die Struktur und die Größe des Smart Family Office zugute. Also einerseits die Kompetenz, die großen Dinge erfolgreich zu bearbeiten, und andererseits der unbedingte Wille, auch die kleinen Aufgaben mit großem Engagement zu Ende zu bringen. Denn oft machen die den Unterschied aus …


F:Also mitdenken, nicht nur für sich selbst, sondern auch für andere?

P.M.:Es gibt ein paar zentrale Dinge, die uns wichtig sind in der Beziehung zu unseren KundInnen: Da ist einmal langfristiges, ganzheitliches Denken, das zu langfristigen KundInnenbeziehungen führt. Das Mitdenken hatte ich schon erwähnt, das Dagegenhalten in Stresssituationen gehört auch dazu. Und dann noch das Commitment zu 100% Einsatz und Unabhängigkeit, mit unseren KundInnen im Zentrum aller Überlegungen.
Partner

Daniel Maier

„Es sind unsere Kundinnen und Kunden, die unsere Arbeit jeden Tag neu gestalten und spannend machen. Darüber freuen wir uns, denn es ermöglicht uns, jeden Morgen mit neuer Tatkraft aufzustehen.“

F:Klar, im Mittelpunkt steht die Kundin beziehungsweise der Kunde. Aber was zeichnet eine prototypische Kundin oder einen prototypischen Kunden des Smart Family Office eigentlich aus?

D.M.:Genau hier beginnt die Schönheit unserer Aufgabe. Denn einen prototypischen Kunden oder eine prototypische Kundin gibt es nicht. Dazu sind die Anforderungen, die an uns gestellt werden, viel zu unterschiedlich … weshalb wir dementsprechend breit aufgestellt sind und mit den KundInnen eine für sie passende Lösung erarbeiten.


F:Es kommt jemand zu Ihnen und Sie unterhalten sich, im besten Fall arbeiten Sie zusammen. Was ist die wichtigste Reaktion Ihrer KundInnen?

D.M.:Begeisterung. Ganz einfach. Wenn wir sehen, dass nach anfänglichem Vertrauen in unserem Gegenüber derselbe Enthusiasmus entsteht wie bei uns. Was wiederum über die Zeit zu einem gestärkten Vertrauen führt, und das wiederum zu einer nachhaltigen Zusammenarbeit, über lange Zeit, über Generationen hinweg.


F:Das bedeutet unter Umständen auch eine Weiterempfehlung?

D.M.:Ja, das kommt häufig vor, worüber wir uns sehr freuen, und es ist immer ein guter Einstieg. Der genaue Prozentsatz an Weiterempfehlungen ist naturgemäß schwer zu beziffern, aber er ist groß genug, um uns darüber zu freuen.


F:In welchen Bereichen tritt man konkret an Sie heran?

D.M.:Das kann von einer Relocation- oder Strategie-Beratung bis hin zur Herausforderung eines Exits gehen, bei dem dann ein Kunde oder eine Kundin vor einem Cash Event steht und sein oder ihr Geld am Konto gut versorgt wissen will. Es kann aber genauso gut sein, dass jemand eine Finanzierung sucht für sein Vorhaben, philanthropisch angelegt ist, ein Nachfolgethema hat oder nachhaltig Vermögen aufbauen will.


F:Ich möchte trotzdem noch einmal auf die eingangs erwähnte Frage zurückkommen: Was wäre, oder was ist der Glücksfall einer Kundin, eines Kunden?

D.M.:Wenn jemand gleich zu Beginn den Mehrwert erkennt, den wir als unabhängiges Family Office liefern. Das weckt Begeisterung. Mit vielen dieser KundInnen arbeiten wir immer noch zusammen. Und es ist uns jedes Mal eine Freude, mitzuerleben, wie sich aus anfänglich kleineren Schnittmengen mit der Zeit immer größere Übereinstimmungen ergeben und daraus individuelle Lösungen entstehen, die unsere KundInnen gut schlafen lassen. Sie vertrauen uns, weil sie wissen: Sie können sich auch in Zukunft auf uns verlassen.
Partner

Michaela Sulke-Trezek

„Jetzt haben wir die Chance, das Beste beider Welten zu verwirklichen: Das Know-how aus globalen Häusern und die Beweglichkeit eines kleinen, bis in die Haarwurzeln engagierten Teams.“

F:Um mit der Tür ins Haus zu fallen: Warum sind Sie hier? Und nicht in London? Oder Singapur?

M.S.T.:Die Frage könnte man auch umgekehrt stellen: Warum bin ich ursprünglich weggegangen? Und die Antwort lautet: Weil ich mehr über den Kapitalmarkt lernen wollte, und das kann man am besten in den großen Finanzzentren wie New York, London oder Frankfurt …


F:Nach Ihrer Rückkehr haben Sie fast 10 Jahre lang UHNW- und HNW-KundInnen bei der Credit Suisse und der Deutschen Bank Österreich betreut, aber was passierte davor?

M.S.T.:Ich war im Capital-Markets-Bereich zweier US-Häuser, also mit der Möglichkeit, umfangreiche Erfahrungen zu sammeln, die jetzt in meine Arbeit einfließen können.


F:Ein Restart also?

M.S.T.:Ja – und nein. Restart in dem Sinn, dass wir hier antreten, um neue Lösungen für bekannte Probleme zu finden. Kein Restart allerdings dahingehend, dass die Kundinnen und Kunden, die wir betreuen, ähnliche Anforderungen an uns stellen wie in den großen Häusern. Allerdings größere Flexibilität und holistische Betreuung erwarten. Und die können wir liefern.


F:Ihre Erwartungen an die neue Konstellation waren von Anfang an klar?

M.S.T.: Absolut. Ich wollte etwas machen, Chancen für KundInnen kreieren, Dinge erfolgreich gestalten. Die Gesetzmäßigkeiten großer Häuser erschweren die Beweglichkeit und bieten nicht das Spektrum an Möglichkeiten, die es für die KundInnen braucht. Verstehen Sie mich nicht falsch: Ich bin ausgebildete Juristin, kann mit Risiken verantwortungsvoll umgehen. Aber der Umstand, dass drei Compliance Officer einen Berater überwachen, ist nicht mehr im Sinne des Kunden oder der Kundin.


F:Ihre KundInnen sehen das auch so?

M.S.T.:KundInnen wollen andere Möglichkeiten, wollen anders veranlagen, als eine einzelne Bank das leisten kann. Das ist keine Kritik an der Qualität der Arbeit dieser Häuser, es ist einfach systemimmanent. Und wir haben uns gefragt: Ist das Korsett einer Bank, mit den Produkten dieser Bank, wirklich das, was unsere KundInnen benötigen? Oder können wir das Angebot auf eine zeitgemäße und für die KundInnen neutrale Basis stellen? Hier können wir vollumfänglich arbeiten, nicht nur aus einer Perspektive. Das ist das, was unsere KundInnen verdienen, jetzt mehr denn je.
Buchhaltung & Finanzen

Angelika Mayerhofer

Marketing

Dorit Maier